India in the 7th heaven of delight

mahendra-singh-dhoni-5835730_1280India has now won 7 global level tournaments…

1. ODI World Cup–1983. (Captain: Kapil Dev)
2. Benson & Hedges World Series Championship–1985. (Sunil Gavaskar)
3. ICC Champions Trophy–2002. (Sourav Ganguly)
4. T20 World Cup–2007. (MS Dhoni)
5. ODI World Cup–2011. (MS Dhoni)
6. ICC Champions Trophy–2013. (MS Dhoni)
7. T20 World Cup–2024. (Rohit Sharma)

We have won these tournaments in Australia, South Africa, England, West Indies-USA, Sri Lanka and India. We are definitely not poor travelers or paper tigers abroad.

In first place is Australia with 10 ICC titles. 3rd is West Indies with 5 such titles. That’s followed by Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England (all 3 ICC titles). Then New Zealand with 2 and South Africa with 1.

Rohit is hot on the trail of Dhoni in terms of winning tournaments with many teams…

MS Dhoni
T20 World Cup–2007.
ODI World Cup–2011.
ICC Champions Trophy–2013.
2 Asia Cups–2010, 2016.
5 IPLs–2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023.
2 Champions League Twenty20–2010, 2014.

Rohit Sharma
T20 World Cup–2024.
2 Asia Cups–2018, 2023.
5 IPLs–2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020.
Champions League Twenty20–2013.

Leave a Reply